“We have to make America the best place on Earth to do business.”

Dear Obama and friends,

I signed on to Google recently and came across a link that said you were taking questions and that all I had to do was sign in to youtube and I could submit one to you and that I might get a video response if I were lucky. Well I clicked that link, and do you know what happened? Nothing, that is what. I received a message that said that the link was temporarily out of service.

It’s been a day now and the link still isn’t working for me. Is it just me.. am I the only one who feels it? That uniquely American isolation that seems so pervasive yet so.. undefinable. For all the big talk of unity that was discussed in the “state of the union” I just can’t help but feel unsatisfied. I wonder, Mr. Obama, if your lack of acknowledgement of the dispossessed is intentional, or if it is just inherent in politicians.

It’s not that I don’t think you’re a great speaker, or that you have some marvelous ideas. Sure, innovation is dandy, clean energy arouses me. But what of that isolation? What of the community that doesn’t exist outside of business/academic settings? You speak of creating jobs for the masses, but does that enhance our lives? Can this machine that has failed us time and again ever really be turned into something that brings joy? Not just to consumer/workers, but to human beings.

When you refer to prosperity, it seems you measure it solely on capital. Where is the humanity in that? What did the homeless think of your speech? What did those in SouthAmerican favelas whose fellow countrymen have abandoned them due to the enticements of American investors think of your speech? When you said that the only way clean energy would come into prominence is if it were a commodity, you failed to lament that fact. It is as natural as rain for the business class to gauge everything’s worth by its dollar value. I ask you to challenge that.

But that is not your job, I know. Your job to appease the status-quo while pushing some moderate agenda. I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you that I am not an American. There is no part of me that is American, nor capitalist, nor democrat, etc. I use the tools presented me within the scope of these institutions, but ultimately I do not consider myself part of this “union” of which you speak. It is not that I hate America, it is just that I don’t believe in America. I don’t think it exists as you would want me to believe. It is a hypothesis, yet to be proven.

So with that I bid you good luck. To try and operate within the framework of the culture of violence and competition, glenn beck and american idol.. well hats off to you. I hope you do some good. I’ll be a captive spectator, breathing that foul air, having no means to clean it. I’ll keep driving on the roads because there isn’t decent means of public transportation and because I can’t find a job that isn’t 40 miles away from my home. I’ll keep distracting myself with booze and hoping that someday our unity doesn’t just involve how much money we’re making together.

Love,
Nick

P.S. I hope you know my cynicism is inspired by love.

1 Comment

Filed under Blather

One response to ““We have to make America the best place on Earth to do business.”

  1. Margo Hanson

    Nick, you have to make your own community. Gather friends once a month, or whatever time works with your schedule. Whether your friends get along or not is not the point, it’s just to create a space where people can talk and be face to face, instead of face to computer.

Leave a Reply

